While She’s Away

Written in January, 2005

 

 

Toneless routine as my feet travel

Drawing done by me entitled RED

and in my soul these feelings unravel

alone I walk, so oddly alone

until her voice I hear on the phone

her heart with me I am told so clear

she wishes to be in the room right here

missing and thinking of me often

slowly I feel my heart as it softens

distance oh distance what a swell teacher

I am amazed my heart can still reach her

every day until she arrives

I sit here dreaming of our two lives

and how I can’t wait to have her in my arms

to sweep her away with poetic charms

a few more days and then she’ll return

and then how brightly our love will burn.

 

 

Leave a Reply

